From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Marathon Tune-Up September 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 12:27 pm

Yesterday was the 18-mile ING Marathon Tune-Up in the park. I am so happy that after yesterday my next long run is the marathon! I am so pumped!

The run yesterday was extremely difficult. First of all, I had taken 2 days off of work last week because I was sick, so was still not feeling 100% but knew I had to get this run in. Second, it was POURING rain. I was soaked within the first few minutes of leaving my apartment.  I couldn’t believe it when my alarm went off at 5:45 and I had to be out the door at 6am in this horrible weather, I kept thinking to myself “Why am I doing this?!?!” Luckily I had laid everything out the night before and had mentally prepared myself to be running in the rain. The last time the forecast predicted rain it barely drizzled, but yesterday I was not so lucky.

I actually had to do a 20-mile training run so I decided to jog 2 miles to the race. It was PITCH black when I left my apartment and I was kind of nervous to be running through the park at this hour. I ran into a few other people on my run to the park so I wasn’t alone. I was feeling pretty pessimistic about the 3.5 hours I had ahead of me to run.. and my first comment to one of the other runners was ” This rain totally sucks!” I was surprised at how positive his response was when he said “At least we’ve trained in the worst conditions possible!” which was very true… better to have a terrible training run through the rain than your actual marathon.

I was pretty intimidated because everyone at this race had obviously run in multiple marathons before. It seemed like everyone had a running partner or some kind of running group they were with that it was kind of lonely being there by myself! I just kept telling myself that this was just a training run, I did 18 last weekend and can easily do 20 today.

I only have one word for the run itself… Wet. There was not a dry inch on my entire body. I also made the mistake of wearing light green shorts that I had no idea became transparent when they get wet…Although after running 12 miles knowing I still had 8 to go, this was the least of my worries.  In the end, the run was great. I am definitely hurting this morning, slightly concerned about the pain in my right knee, ankle and hip… but am so glad I did it. It was at the top for the hardest runs of my life and now I’m totally psyched for the marathon! I can’t wait for the day when all of my hard work will pay off and to see my family and friends along the way! I ended up finishing the 18 miles in 3:13:00. Not too shabby. Last weekend we ran 18 in about 3 hours so I was pleased with this considered the weather. With the 2 extra miles (actually 2.5!) my total time running was 3 hours 31 min. I am aiming to complete the marathon in 4:30-4:45 and feel pretty confident that I can make it in my goal time!

This week I begin tapering. I’m going to try to run almost every day, even if it’s just 2-3 miles. This weekend I plan to run 10-12 miles at very easy pace. I’m going to do as much stretching and yoga as possible. Hopefully my right leg will feel better in the next few days… These long runs have definitely put a strain on my knees, ankles and hips. I’m glad my training hasn’t been very long because I probably wouldn’t be able to walk by now! I’m also hoping my shoes start to dry out over these next few days. As of last night they were still completely soaked! My feet were pruny when I took off my shoes, gross!

 

Leave a Reply

