From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

18 miles. September 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 2:09 pm

Well, I did it, I actually ran 18 miles! I am seriously so proud of myself! I feel great about the race in a few weeks!! I had talked to Megan about running together this weekend but she had planned to run the Queens half on Sunday so I knew I would be on my own. Well, I was totally psyched when she emailed me on Friday saying she had changed her mind and was running with another friend instead of the race. I’ve felt like I’ve been coming down with something the last few days so I’m glad that I was meeting someone to run because I have a feeling I would have bailed. (now I am definitely sick so maybe that wasn’t the best idea.. )

I met Megan at 7am at her apartment on the east side, she had planned to run 12 miles and her friend who was joining was planning to run 20 miles. I was totally psyched knowing I would have someone to run with the whole way.

We started running down the east river all the way to Battery Park then back up the Hudson River to 72nd St. where we crossed over into the park. The weather was perfect the whole way and I felt pretty good. We ran about a 9:30 pace the whole way which a bit faster than I had planned but I was happy that I was able to keep up.  My legs definitely tightened up a bit after mile 12 but I felt really good the whole time. I finished my run in just over 3 hours. I still cannot believe I did it! Having people to chat with the whole time made a world of difference. I cannot imagine doing it on my own. I am a little nervous because they were both experienced marathon runners and were a bit surprised that I had such a short time to train – but i’d say it’s a bit too late now!

I was browsing the NYRR website and saw that they have a tune-up run for runners participating in the marathon. It’s basically an 18 mile training run with water stops and other people to encourage you! It’s $35 which I’m not too happy about but I think it will definitely be worth it. This is my last training run before the race and I need to stick with it the whole time!

 

Leave a Reply

