From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Training Progress. September 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 12:41 pm

This week of training has been great! I’ve had to work a little harder to keep myself motivated, but of course once I’m out the door running I feel fine.

On Saturday morning I met up with one of my friends Megan for a long run in the park. My training plan called for 15 and Megan was going to join for the first 10. All week the forecast called for rain and the sky looked pretty daunting when I woke up at 6:00 to meet Megan at 7.  I know I would have bailed had I not had someone there waiting for me, so I’m so glad I stuck with it! I was prepared for down pours but the rain actually held off for most of our run and only sprinkled for a few minutes. I loved using my garmin and being able to keep track of our mileage and pace. Around mile 9, the area from my knee to hip really started to hurt to the point where I didn’t know if I should keep running. Megan finished her run at mile 10 and I was supposed to carry on for 5 more miles but I had a really hard time now that I didn’t have a running partner! I stopped to stretch my hip because the pain was getting more intense.  Nolan was running a race that morning so by the time we finished the 10 miles, his race was about to begin. I jogged up to the section of the park I told him I would be waiting and decided it would be best to stop my run there. I ended up running about 11.5 miles which I was not too pleased about but it is better than nothing.  My hip hurt like crazy for the rest of the day and I did my best to stretch it out although I didn’t find a good stretch because the pain felt different from muscle pain. I took it easy the rest of the day and when I woke up on Sunday I felt fine! Maybe it was for the best that I didn’t finish the run and hurt myself further!

I am pretty nervous because I have never run more than 13 miles and have only 2 more long training runs before the marathon. Although I know I am running just to reach the finish line, I want to do the best I can! I’m not setting my goals too high because I know I haven’t had adequate time to train as much as I’d hoped, so I am going to just have fun and do my best not to injure myself. I have 18 miles planned for Sunday which I am going to do my best to complete. 

This week I ran 3.5 miles on Tuesday night and 5 miles last night. After work I was exhausted and the last thing I wanted to do was run. I gave myself a little pep talk that I would be able to rest as much as I wanted to after the marathon and that any run I do now will only make me stronger, so I threw my shoes on and was out the door within 2 minutes. I had initially set out to do 3 miles but once I got out there I knew I could do more and set my max distance to 5 miles. For some reason I felt like pushing myself (maybe to get it over faster?) and took of running an 8:30 mile. I typically stay between a 9-10 min mile so this was much faster than I was used to. Surprisingly, I felt great! I was able to keep this pace until my turn around spot at 2.5 miles. The way back was much harder – I was running against the wind and knew that I had not fueled properly for my run. I need to remember that my body handles 5-6 mile runs much differently than 3 miles and I could tell right at the 3 mile mark that my body was dying for water and I was starving for dinner. I still pushed myself to about mile 4 and took a short walk break then ran my normal pace back home. Even with my walk break I still managed to run 5 miles in under 45 minutes! I was so excited! It felt like my workout was over in 15 minutes and I couldn’t believe I had gone that far. 

I always say that my pace is 10 minute miles but that is because I think I can only go that fast, well last night I definitely proved myself wrong! I think I have been underestimating my running ability and not pushing myself as hard a I could be. Obviously, on longer runs I am not going to push myself for so long at this pace but it definitely makes a difference. I was sweating like crazy and totally exhausted last night after my run which was such a great feeling! It definitely pumped me up for this marathon and now I can’t wait for my run on Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

