From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Garmin 305! September 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 6:34 pm

garmin

 

I completely forgot to mention in my last post that I just purchased a brand new Garmin 305! I am SO SO excited. I figure that now that I’m doing such long runs, measuring my distance other than on mapmyrun.com is going to be very important!

Most of the time, I keep track in my head of the # of blocks I run (20 blocks= 1 mile) which is definitely not the most efficient but has been pretty accurate so far. I also consider that 10 minutes = 1 mile but lately I think I’ve been picking up speed (!!) because once I have come home and mapped my route it has been slightly less than a mile.

This marathon is most definitely not about speed, but simply reaching the finish line. However, while training I want to do the best I can and I’ve heard such great things about the Garmin, I’m excited to finally have a reason to use one!

I have loved my Polar HRM that I’ve been using for the past year, but am ready to move on to something with GPS and more detailed readings. I typically don’t wear the chest strap because with a sports bra AND built in bra top it can be just too much, so hopefully this one will be comfortable enough for me to wear every time!

 

Leave a Reply

