From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

What?? A Marathon?!? September 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 1:37 pm

I have made the exciting decision to run in the Hartford Marathon! The only thing is, it is on October 10th.. a little more than a month away. While I was on vacation the week after my half marathon, I was talking to one of our friends about the next race I wanted to run. I have always said I would never run a marathon,  it seems like way too far of a distance for a person to run and takes such a toll on your body.  I have always been so intimidated by marathons that I never imagined I’d make the decision to run in one.. let alone a few weeks after a half.

Well, Jen made a good point that I was already half way through the training. She also works for a non profit, Jocelyn’s Run, which has a team participating in the marathon that I could join and raise money for the cause by running the race. I figured, why not?! This time it’s not about beating a time, it’s simply accomplishing a goal I have set for myself that I once thought was impossible.

I’m really excited about it! I’m not going to take it easy training so I don’t injure myself. I’m planning to do a few shorter runs  (3-7 miles) twice a week followed by longer runs on the weekends. Considering I didn’t train too intensely for this last half, I don’t want to overdo it. I’m thinking about doing 12, 15, 18, 20 mile runs over the next 4 weekends, then taking it easy the weekend before the race. I’m not going for record timing, I just don’t want to hit a wall at 13 miles knowing I am only half way done! The Hartford course looks great. It’s 2, 13.1 mile loops of the same course – which sounds much better than the NY marathon where you’re running 26.2 straight miles. 

I’m going to admit that I am really nervous.. especially the fact that I’m running the race by myself. The past few races I’ve run I’ve started off with another person. I also hope that I can reach my fundraising goal! I’m shooting for $700 which I should hopefully be able to raise in these next few weeks.  I’ve started a fundraising page and have already raised $110 thanks to some very generous donors 🙂  I’m also going to be good about tracking my training to keep myself motivated and monitor my

www.active.com/donate/JocelynsRun/allisonprice

I started my training with a nice slow 6.5 mile run. As I’ve said before, I LOVE running along the Hudson. I feel like I could run forever. This time, I went north up to 125th street, this will be great on long runs because I can go as far as I want – all the way to the GW Bridge! This cool weather will be great for training, fall is definitely my favorite season! I’m doing my best not to be too intimidated by the marathon, I’ve registered so there’s no turning back! Everyone has already been so supportive so I can’t wait for race day to be here!!

 

3 Responses to “What?? A Marathon?!?”

  1. Gillian Says:

    Small world! I just came across your blog, and I realize we have a lot in common – I too went from a Little Acorn to the Big Apple. Cute name, by the way. I went to Elon, currently live in NYC, and am a runner gearing up for the Jersey City half marathon in September and the Philadelphia full marathon in November. I enjoy your running tips on the blog, and I look forward to reading more!

    • flavprice Says:

      Hey Gillian, that’s so crazy! Such a small world. Your blog is great! I graduated from Elon in 2008. What about you? Let me know if you’re looking for a running partner! Good luck with your training.

  2. Al! I love that you kept this going…thank you for that!

    Gillian – i think i had a class with you at elon….an Aging class with dr wassik (i forget her name) anyway…did you play soccer with ashley condon? so random!


Leave a Reply

