From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Double Digits! July 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 4:30 pm

I knew I wanted to do a long run this week but realized I didn’t have time to do it other than last night or tonight – its pouring rain today so yesterday afternoon I decided to just suck it up and do 10 miles. There was no rain, I had no plans, and basically no excuses not to!

 

As soon as I got home from work I put on my running shoes and hurried out the door before I had a second to think about it. I set my goal at 10 miles, but I usually set a “maximum” goal, and a “minimum” goal. This is because sometimes my body just can’t handle the distance I have set out to run that day, so as long as I set a slightly shortly distance then at least I have accomplished one goal and not completely bailed. So last night my max was 10 and min was 7. I haven’t run 10 miles since my half marathon, and while training for that race my longest run was 8 miles.

 

Heading out for a run that’s going to take an hour and a half is pretty intimidating. After running the first mile I just kept thinking over and over “I can’t believe I still have 9 miles to go”. The entire time I ran last night it was all mental. Aside from the last 2 miles, my body felt fine but my mind kept telling me to stop. It was a definitely tough but I completed 10 miles! I had to walk a few times and stop and stretch but that was about it! I was so proud that I actually accomplished a goal that I had set. I would like to do at least one more 10 mile run before the half and then take it easy the week before the race.

 

Lately, after these long runs I get home and feel extremely sick. I drink water while running and drink countless bottles when I get home but I always feel nauseous for at least an hour after these runs. The heat is definitely getting to me and it might be that I haven’t eaten enough before my run. I need to experiment on these next few runs to see how I can solve this problem! Any suggestions??

 

Leave a Reply

