From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Article: Can’t Stand the Heat? July 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 5:56 pm

I found this  great article yesterday in Runner’s World right after I wrote my post about how much I struggled running in the heat. The entire article is great, but here are two things he mentioned that stuck out in my mind:

1. The current recommendation on hydration is that you should drink for thirst, and only for thirst. You don’t need to start pounding down the water just because it’s hot.

2. You’ll have to slow your pace in the heat. Your heart is pumping blood to your skin to keep you cool, which increases your heart rate, and the means that your pace must slow down.

These may seem obvious, but make so much sense as to why one cool evening after work I can run 4 miles at a 9:00 pace but could barely stick to a 10 min/mile pace during my long run on Sunday.   I am trying to acclimate myself to running in the heat for the half but need to remember to be careful! Luckily, the race starts at 7am, meaning I should (hopefully)  be finished by 9:00am right before the heat is unbearable!

The half is only a few weeks away, I can’t wait!

 

Leave a Reply

