From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

Allison: Lacking Motivation… again July 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — flavprice @ 9:01 pm

Hopefully a pattern is not forming… I hit a wall about a month before my first half marathon and completely lost all motivation to train or exercise and it’s happening again. I’m not sure what the cause is, but I simply cannot get myself out of bed in the morning to go for a run. Even on the most beautiful days I come up with endless excuses as to why I should stay in bed.

I’m not sure if it’s the monotony of my training routine – my recent discovery of the path along the Hudson River is no longer enough to distract me from my exercise. I have researched countless training programs and tried to find the one that I truly knew I could handle – not one that was too challenging that I knew I would give up on after only a few days.

I’ve attempted to add strength training (Caitlin and Kath’s program) which I have really loved, as well as various Yoga podcasts I have found online but nothing is sticking. The thing is, that after my run I feel amazing and have never regretted a single workout – I just can’t seem to my butt out the door.

So how can I fix this? I am falling way behind on my training for the half in august, having completed only one four mile run since Saturday. I would like to do at least a 10 mile run before the race but don’t want to push myself too hard. I think I just need to suck it up and lace up my running shoes before I even have time to think about it. Even if I end up walking for half of my run that’s better than no exercise at all. I think laziness and the fact that I finally have a living room that I can relax in along with endless cable stations (2 things I did not have at my old apartment) are pathetic contributors to this extreme lack of motivation.

I’ve said this before but this time I mean it, I’m going to really get my butt into gear and focus! I have absolutely no reason as to why I am not exercising. I take for granted the fact that I have the ability to even get out and go for a run, there are so many people who would give anything to be able to put on a pair of sneakers and go for a jog or compete in a race and here I am complaining about it. So, this is my new found motivation: I am have a body that allows me to exercise so rather than wasting it I am going to USE IT!

 

Leave a Reply

