From the Little Acorn to the Big Apple

friends, food, and fitness

We.did.it! April 28, 2009

Filed under: Allison,Carbs,Fuel,Joanna — flavprice @ 7:31 pm

Pictures will come shortly.

We survived!!! This is Joanna now –  I am sure Allison will recap on the experience as well.

Personally, I felt the race was an awesome, fulfilling, rewarding accomplishment.  I slept great the night before – went to bed at 10:30 and woke up at 6, completely uninterrupted.  Well, Andrew said that at 1 am some motor cycle gang woke up the neighborhood, but I must have been too far into REM to notice. 

For dinner the night before I contemplated pasta, but settled on smoked turkey and hummus on whole wheat.  I had a few chips and salsa and a little ice cream too (wanted to eat a lot of carb calories!)  Upon waking I had 1 1/2 slices of bread topped with PB and a sliced banana. It was the perfect balance of carbs, fat, and protein to get me through 13.1 miles. 

Allison and I met outside of our subway stop and walked to the start. We had a lot of nervous energy and just couldn’t believe the day had finally come. We got so antsy waiting in line…we just wanted to start…once that gun went off we were so excited…it was surreal.

The first 3 miles went sooo slow. Being that it was 90 ish degrees, the full-marathon was cancelled.  Those marathoners joined us, making our race about 10,000 participants. That’s a lot of women! When we finally got in the groove the race went quickly! It ended up being 2 laps around central park plus an additional 1.1 miles.  There were hoses being sprayed throughout to cool us down, and plenty of water stops.  We walked through every station and I drank 2 cups each time – and I was still PURPLY RED from the heat.

Allison and I stuck together for most of it, and let me tell you it was awesome having her support.  We pushed each other and encouraged each other. I could not have done it without her. I even let her have half of my energy gel! I took two of those throughout the race, one at mile 5 and one at mile 10. They taste nasty, but boy did they help!  All of a sudden at mile 10 I was cruising….I started doing negative splits – it was so bizarre.  But, it was at mile 11 that the heat got to me. I felt queasy and wanted to stop.  But I didn’t! I kept up my pace and finished strong! I was so proud of myself.  Andrew was right behind the finish in the thick of it all (when you have an expensive camera it acts as a free backstage pass – no questions asked!)

My family was at the finish too – with an adorable sign made by my little sister. It made me feel so loved and supported.

I ate a bagel immediately upon finishing.  I thought it would settle my stomach. It actually didn’t and I felt pretty nauseous for a few hours – I couldn’t even enjoy lunch with the fam 😦 But, when I got home hunger struck hard and I pretty much ate my apartment.

Surprisingly, I was barely sore at all the next day! I am definitely tight, but I am walking fine and feel great. I am even thinking of doing another one in the future 🙂 We shall see!

 

Leave a Reply

